Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    Trying another method:

    JPEG from site attachment....

    Name:  American Starting Lineup.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  93.8 KB
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  2. #22
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    New Computer...trying pics


    PNG...




    JPEG....


    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  3. #23
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    Trying a snapshot on my old Macbook Pro; Shift+Command+4, and drag/release; save to photos....

    Name:  Image 2-9-20 at 4.15 PM.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  67.9 KB

    ...not bad, but the counters are fuzzy. I just can't find a way to get clear images from a VASSAL screenshot on here! The old phoBB3 software, as much as I hate to admit it, seemed MUCH better with images.

    OK, same image, but stored on Postimg.org



    OK, we have a winner! This tells me the vBulletin software is the issue with blurring images.
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  4. #24
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    Another stab at it... this with my old Macbook Pro, once again.

    First, a VASSAL camera snapshot; then Saved As a JPEG in JobsPainter; then attachment here...

    Name:  EBG Full Map.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  93.3 KB

    And now, a cropped section of that, converted also back to JPEG with JobsPainter...

    Name:  EBG Zoom Map.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  89.8 KB

    The full map sucks, but the zoomed in crop attachment is just slightly less quality than the one uploaded to Postimg.org. The bonus of this is, the attachment is more stable being loaded on the site server, versus the postimg version, which sometimes go down when their server glitches (it's happened!). But again, the benefit of postimg is, it's not taking up site-server disk space.

    Trying a straight snapshot, directly from my Macbook Pro to my desktop; and then saved to Postimg.org and linked here....



    ...WOW...I think this is the best yet!!!
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  5. #25
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    Trying an old program from my iPad.... an attachment

    Name:  C0C94CF6-EBBA-468E-A3C2-D9BBF86B757B.jpg
Views: 34
Size:  20.2 KB

    And from Postimg

    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  6. #26
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821

    Trying some new resources

    Yeah, it's me again! OK...this is going to be a test for a new uploading periphery I picked up...I noted I could attach pics on my Ranger build (first post), which came out a much bigger size than my iPad uploads. Might be just another crapy part of iPads, but let's see.

    1st up: My Sony Cybershot, cleaned up with Photoshop Elements...

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.37 Sony.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  56.2 KB

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.30 Sony.jpg
Views: 15
Size:  53.2 KB

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.23 Sony.jpg
Views: 15
Size:  97.6 KB
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  7. #27
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821
    2nd up... Canon Easyshare, with Photoshop Elements cleanup...

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.37 Canon.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  56.0 KB

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.30 Canon.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  53.2 KB

    Name:  2020-09-17 16.52.23 Canon.jpg
Views: 13
Size:  80.8 KB
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  8. #28
    Administrator Whiterook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,821

    Another test...with Windows laptop

    My Windows laptop has a difference Adobe Photoshop Elements, which has fewer Enhance options than my Mac version, but is for some reason a little more streamlined? Ack...computers! So I am going to once again try importing three same pics from my Sony Cybershop (a beefier camera) and my Canon travel camera:

    Sony...

    Name:  DSC04047.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  51.8 KB

    Name:  DSC04045.JPG
Views: 11
Size:  85.8 KB

    Name:  DSC04046.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  45.9 KB


    And now the Canon...

    Name:  001.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  97.4 KB

    Name:  002.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  91.4 KB

    Name:  003.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  92.6 KB

    Ohhhh, the Canon took much longer to upload, and they were over 90KB (where the Sony only had one around 80 and the other two at about 40+KB). I have NO friggin' idea why such a difference between cameras. I'm curious what viewers see on their screen, as far as width...does it look to go almost to the right edge of your screen?
    "There is no off position on the Genius Switch”

  9. #29
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Warwickshire, UK.
    Posts
    477
    Pretty close to the right edge.
    Always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor never the tormented.

    Elie Wiesel.

    Nobel Laureate and Holocaust survivor

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •